Lone Rock Beats Bel Sprinter To Win 2011 Bobbie Lewis Quality

September 5th, 2011

Lone Rock won the Group 3 Bobbie Lewis Quality at Flemington on Saturday September 3, 2011, ahead of previously unbeaten gelding Bel Sprinter.

The Robert Smerdon-trainer Lone Rock stole the race away from Bel Sprinter who led the rest of the horse racing field for the majority of the race.

Jockey Mark Zahra rode Lone Rock to her impressive half-length victory.

“I just wanted to ride her really quiet and have a really strong last two furlongs,” Zahra said.

“On the way to the gates she gave me a great feel she was switched on and jumped and just sat and sat and she was just too strong.

“She is a Group 1 winner and on her day she goes really good so I suppose it surprised me a little bit but she could be in for a big spring.”

Lone Rock’s racing representative Henry Dwyer said that Smerdon will now look for a high class stakes race for the four-year-old mare.

“The option was a race at Caulfield in two weeks’ time that wasn’t lofty or anything but now that she has come out and done that you have to think more than that but we will just leave that to Robert,” Dwyer said.

Lone Rock has now won four of her 13 race starts, including the Group 1 Goodwood at Morphettville during the autumn.

Make sure you open an account with our favourite online bookmaker Luxbet now in time for this Saturday’s Spring Stakes.

Enter the promo code BONUSBET when you join in order to be credited with a bonus bet immediately worth up to $400!

So make the most of this amazing opportunity by signing up with Luxbet today!

2011 Bobbie Lewis Quality Race Results

Finish No. Horse Trainer Jockey Margin Bar. Weight Starting Price
1 15 LONE ROCK Robert Smerdon Mark Zahra 13 54.5kg $21
2 12 BEL SPRINTER Jason Warren Ben Melham 0.4L 9 55kg $3.70F
3 6 DANZYLUM Robbie Griffiths Luke Currie 0.9L 11 56kg $151
4 8 PHELAN READY Jason McLachlan Brad Rawiller 1L 1 56kg $31
5 2 TOORAK TOFF Rick Hore-Lacy Craig Williams 1.1L 5 57kg $17
6 9 TEMPLE OF BOOM Tony Gollan James McDonald (a) 1.4L 6 56kg $14
7 14 DUBLEANNY Mick Price Craig Newitt 1.5L 2 54.5kg $7
8 18 HAPPY TRAILS Paul Beshara Chris Symons 1.6L 3 53kg $26
9 11 ELUSIVE TOUCH Mark Kavanagh Michael Rodd 1.7L 12 55.5kg $10
10 17 OFFENDERS Peter Snowden Kerrin McEvoy 2.45L 10 53kg $21
11 10 CHASM Heath Conners Jason Benbow 2.55L 14 55.5kg $15
12 19 AMERICAN CREW Leon Corstens Danny Nikolic 4.3L 15 53kg (cd 53.5kg) $61
13 13 LORD PYRUS (NZ) Judy Mawer Dean Yendall 4.5L 18 55kg $101
14 7 DOUBTFUL JACK Peter G Moody Luke Nolen 4.7L 17 56kg $10
15 5 YOSEI Stuart Webb Ms Michelle Payne 4.8L 8 56.5kg $41
16 3 ALOHA Mick Price Glen Boss 5L 7 56.5kg $7
17 16 GOLD SALUTE Mark Riley Stephen Baster 5.2L 16 53kg $71
18 1 EAGLE FALLS David Hayes Steven Arnold 6.7L 4 58kg $21